

EMBASSY OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE UNION OF MYANMAR 2300 S Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20008-4089 TEL: (202) 332 - 3344

ANNOUNCEMENT

on

Visa exemption agreement between Myanmar and Thailand

(19th August 2015)

The Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar and the Government of the Kingdom of Thailand signed a visa exemption agreement for citizens of both countries who hold ordinary passports and travel by air. The agreement was signed by H.E. U Wunna Maung Lwin, Union Minister for Foreign Affairs of Myanmar and H.E. General Tanasak Patimapagorn, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Thailand, in Chiang Mai, Thailand on 28 July 2015. The exemption of visa became effective on 11 August 2015.

According to the Agreement, citizens of either countries who are holding ordinary passports with at least six (6) months validity from the date of entry shall be exempted from any visa requirements for entry into, exit from and transit through the territory of the other country through international airports, and shall be entitled to stay in the territory of the other country for a period not exceeding fourteen (14) days from the date of entry.

Myanmar had signed the similar agreements with Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Laos, the Philippines and Viet Nam in accordance with the 2006 ASEAN Framework Agreement on Visa Exemption.

Attached herewith is the list of countries having bilateral visa exemption agreements with Myanmar (As of August 2015).



Myanmar Embassy, Washington, D.C.

List of Countries Having Bilateral Visa Exemption Agreements with Myanmar (As of August 2015)

In Alphabetical Order

Sr. No.	Country	Diplomatic Passport Holder	Duration of Stay	Official / Service Passport Holder	Duration of Stay	Ordinary Passport Holder	Duration of Stay
1.	Bangladesh	1	90 days	7	90 days	×	
2.	Belarus	1	30 days	1	30 days	×	
3.	Brunei Darussalam *	1	14 days	1	14 days	1	14 days
4.	Cambodia *	1	30 days	√	30 days	1	14 days
5.	China (P.R.C.)	1	30 days	7	30 days	×	
6.	India	1	90 days	V	90 days	×	
7.	Indonesia *	1	14 days	7	14 days	×	
8.	Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea)	1	30 days	V	30 days	×	R
9.	Korea (Republic of Korea)	1	90 days	1	90 days	×	
10.	Laos *	√	30 days	1	30 days	√	14 days
11.	Malaysia *	1	30 days	1	30 days	×	
12.	Philippines *	1	30 days	1	30 days	V	14 days
13.	Russia	1	90 days	1	90 days	×	
14.	Singapore *	√	30 days	1	30 days	x	
15.	Sri Lanka	√	30 days	V	30 days	×	
16.	Thailand *	7	30 days	V	30 days	√	14 days
17.	Viet Nam *	√	30 days	V	30 days	√	14 days

N.B.:

- Asterisk* denotes the Member States of the ASEAN.
- According to these bilateral agreements, the Myanmar officials, holding either diplomatic or
 official passports, are kindly requested to check the visa requirements for their preparation of
 the trip. If unclear, please contact the Consular Department. (067-412063).